Named in memory of Greg Montalbano, a former Red Sox minor-league pitcher who was only 31 when he died of cancer in 2009. A native of Westborough and later a standout at Northeastern University, Montalbano was a participant in the Oldtime Baseball Game in 1997 and ’98. Selected by the Red Sox in the fifth round of the 1999 amateur draft, Montalbano played six seasons of professional baseball before illness ended his career. In 2001, he was named Minor League Pitcher of the Year by the Red Sox.

The award, instituted in 2010, is presented to a former participant in the Oldtime Baseball Game who best exemplifies Greg’s spirit, competitiveness and good nature.

oldtime baseball game greg montalbano award

Award Recipients

  • 2010 – Todd Korchin, Northeastern University
  • 2011 – Steve Langone, Boston College
  • 2012 – Orazio Azzarello, Framingham State College
  • 2013 – Junior Medina, Stonehill College
  • 2014 – Pete Frates, Boston College
  • 2015 – Josh Klimkiewicz, Harvard University
  • 2016 – Tim Dunphy, Brandies University
  • 2017 – Matt Nuzzo, Brown University
  • 2018 – Matt Paré, Boston College
  • 2021 – Cameron Monagle, Merrimack College
  • 2022  Lou Merloni, Boston Red Sox