Uniform & Team History

The 1957 Braves, in their fifth season in Milwaukee after relocating from Boston, beat the New York Yankees in the World Series. Warren Spahn, arguably the greatest lefthander in history, was the winning pitcher in Game 1.

Oldtime Game History

Melrose native Andy Brickley, who starred in both baseball and hockey at the University of New Hampshire before moving on to a long career in the National Hockey League, returned to his hardball roots when he wore this uniform in the 1999 Oldtime Baseball Game. Brickley played 11 seasons in the NHL, four of them with the Boston Bruins.Ryan Edell of the University of California/Irvine, who wore it in 2002, was drafted by the Cleveland Indians in 2005. Patrick Bresnehan of Arizona State, who wore it in 2003, was drafted by the San Diego Padres in 2006. Ryan Leach of Franklin Pierce University, who wore it in 20123, went on to play professionally with Les Capitales de Quebec of the Canadian-American Association. Jaime Quiros of Boston College, who in 1998 was the first to wear this uniform, went on to play professionally with the Lincoln Salt Dogs.

Also worn by:

Matt McEvoy, Holy Cross (’00); Chris Bodnar, Williams College (’01); Matt Bishop, Endicott College (’04); Carlos Rosario, Roxbury Community College (’05); Chris Decembrele, Tufts University (’06); Jarrod Marchesi, Bentley University (’07-08); Mike DiCato, University of Massachusetts (’09); Rob Caggiano, Belmont Hill School (’10-11); Jack Colton, Harvard University (’14); Jeff Vigurs, Bryant College (’15); John Brickley, Augustine A’s (Retired) (’16); Alex Joyce, Stonehill College (’17).